Save Your Forks!

Posted: November 30, 2011 in Monday Morning Message
Tags:

From as far back as I can remember my mom hosted Thanksgiving at our house. Some of my fondest memories are from a Thanksgiving Day gathering. Sometimes it was the anticipation of my dad coming back home from hunting early Thanksgiving morning or later if he got his deer. Other times it was seeing all of my relatives and hanging out with my cousins. My most cherished memory is one of my mother telling us all to save our forks as the table was being cleared.

My mother is an amazing cook and the Thanksgiving spread was the Magnum opus of culinary decadence. Like Pavlov’s dogs who salivated at the ringing of the bell, my mouth began to respond at the sound of those words, “save your fork” because I knew that the best was yet to come, her homemade pastries, pies and other delectable desserts.

As I reflect upon this Thanksgiving and my short time here at 4-H, I wanted to share with you how thankful I am for each of you. The input of your time, talents and treasures to help young people reach their full potential as competent, confident, leaders of character who contribute and are connected to their communities does not go unnoticed. I have appreciated opportunities to meet face-to-face or talk to on the phone and look forward to conversations with those of you that I have not yet met.

This Thanksgiving season I also want to encourage you to “SAVE YOUR FORKS!” As we navigate change, improve our strategies for aiding in the development of young people, and intentionally continue to implore best practices in youth development, I believe that our best 4-H days are yet to come.

I hope that you all enjoyed your holiday with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

