The Fellowship of 4-H Leadership

Posted: February 23, 2012 in Monday Morning Message, Youth Development
Tags: ,

This last month I had the amazing opportunity to hang out at the CAL Conference.  It was inspiring to see young people in meaningful leadership roles being supported by adults who see youth as a meaningful resource rather than just recipients of our wisdom and services.  While at the conference, I was reminded of the importance of the key components of thriving are how critical they are to being an effective leader.  The following is a personal declaration that I shared at the close of my talk to these young leaders which I believe reflects the persistent effort of a growth mindset.

“I am part of the fellowship of 4-H leadership. I have explosive leadership power. The dye has been cast and I’ve stepped over the line. The decision has been made. I am to live from my passions and I won’t look back, let up, slow down, back away or be still.

My past is my tutor, my present makes sense and my future is secure. I am finished and done with low living, sight walking, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tame visions, mundane talking, chintzy giving and dwarfed goals.

I no longer need preeminence, prosperity, position, promotion, plotting, or popularity. I don’t have to be first, right, tops, recognized, praised, regarded or rewarded.

I now live by presence, lean by faith, love by patience, lift by perseverance, and labor by power.   My pace is set, my gait is fast, my goal is attainable, my road is long, my way is rough, my companions few, my guides reliable, my mission clear.

I can not be bought, compromised, deterred, lured away, turned back, deluded or delayed. I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of adversity, negotiate at the table of the enemy (good can sometimes be the enemy of great) or meander in the maze of mediocrity.

I won’t give up, shut up, let up or burn up, till I have showed up, lived up, paid up, stored up, and stayed up for my causes

I am a leadership 4-Her and I must go till I’m there, give till I drop, share till all know and work till I’m done. And when I leave this earth, no one will have problems recognizing me—my clover will be clear.”[i]

I hope this personal declaration resonates with each of you and becomes the mantra of your commitment to allowing yourself to be challenged, actively seeking new information and using and practicing it and viewing challenges and obstacles as opportunities to grow.


[i] Adapted from an unknown author

Leave a Reply

